Send a message to
and you'll be added
to our list.
Back to the News

New CRIT Tribal Council assumes duties
February 3, 2009

Scott voted new Tribal Secretary and Welsh assumes Tribal Treasurer spot

A new era for CRIT began with the swearing in of a new Chairman, Vice Chairman and several new Tribal Council members on January 2.

Eldred Enas was elected as the new Chairman in the Tribes elections on December 6. Enas defeated Rayford Patch and Wendell Goodman, Jr. to become CRITs first new chairman in the past 20 years.

He succeeded Daniel Eddy, Jr. who decided not to run for re-election.

Wayne Patch, Sr. was elected Tribal Vice Chairman over John Laffoon. Patch succeeded Enas in the position.

Four Tribal Council seats were up for election, and they were filled by Merving Scott, Jr., Johnny Hill, Jr., Valerie Welsh-Tahbo and Amanda Leivas-Sharpe.

Welsh-Tahbo was the only incumbent of the council candidates to be re-elected. Previous Councilmembers Dennis Patch and Herman T.J. Laffoon were not re-elected.

A total of 14 candidates were on the ballot for the four Tribal Council positions.

The new council represents one of the most dramatic turnovers on the Tribal Council in Tribal history.

This is a time of tremendous change in our country and in our Tribal community, Enas said. We are both hopeful and confident that we can help lead the people of CRIT through this difficult economic time and continue to improve our quality of life.

The new Tribal Council then selected Scott to serve as Tribal Secretary, and incumbent Dennis Welsh to serve as Tribal Treasurer.

Tribal members voted to recall Daphne Hill-Poolaw in a December 13 special election, and will vote on a new council member to fill the last position on the Tribal Council in a special election on February 13.

Home Manataba Messenger Business Opportunities Tourism Information Bluewater Casino About Us Tribal Government Information Tribal Departments Tribal Ordinances Public Notices Employees Contact Us