Send a message to
and you'll be added
to our list.
Back to the News

Vice Chairman, Council seats to be decided
November 21, 2006

Three run for Vice Chairman, 16 for three council seats in December 2 vote

Three people are seeking the office of Tribal Vice Chairman, and 16 people are running for three open Tribal Council seats in the upcoming Tribal Election.

The election will take place on Saturday, December 2, with polling locations open from 6 a.m. to 6 p.m.

The seats of Vice Chairman Russell Welsh and Councilmembers Eldred Enas, Sylvia “Cindy” Homer and Ray Aspa, Sr. are up for re-election.

Enas has decided to run for Vice Chairman.

The candidates are:

Vice Chairman: Eldred Enas, Russell Welsh, Sr. and Edward Kennard Yava, Sr.

Tribal Council: James Russell Alcaida, Richard Marvin Armstrong, Raymond Gene Aspa, Gertrude "Sugie" Fisher, Dennis Harper, Stuart Garcia Harper, Daphne Hill-Poolaw, Sylvia "Cindy" Homer, Charmane Miller, Michaline Miller, Virginia Marie Prieta, Merving Scott, Jr., Amanda Levias Sharpe, Dale Wayne Short, Sr., Sonia Kaye Stone, and Dennis Welsh, Jr.

The polling locations are:
DISTRICT I - Tribal Administrative Center
DISTRICT II - Headstart Valley School

After the election, on Monday, December 4, the election results will be certified by the Tribal Council at 9 a.m. in the Tribal Council chambers. This meeting is open to the public.

Inauguration of new Tribal Council members will take place on January 2, 2007 at 9 a.m. in the Tribal Council Chambers.

Home Manataba Messenger Business Opportunities Tourism Information Bluewater Casino About Us Tribal Government Information Tribal Departments Tribal Ordinances Public Notices Employees Contact Us